Last updateThu, 29 Jan 2015 3pm

Bourbon takes third in MCB community awards

Steelville took first place and Bourbon third place in their category for the annual Community Awards sponsored by the Missouri Community Betterment (MCB) conference. They were among 29 communities and 13 individuals honored at this year’s MCB conference at Lake Ozark. 


The Awards Banquet was the highlight of the 50th annual conference, which assists communities to improve their quality of life. Nearly 325 volunteers, community leaders and youth from across the state were in attendance.

The city of Salem won the Gene Speichinger Community of the Year Award over the other 29 communities that entered this year. MCB judges and Board members were impressed with the community planning process undertaken by Salem. It was very clear how this year’s projects flow from community need discussions. Likewise it was easy to see how this year’s projects will serve as foundations for projects to follow in the upcoming years. Other winners in the six population groups were: South Iron/Annapolis, Galena, Steelville, Houston, Pleasant Hill.

“The Missouri Community Betterment Board congratulates all the volunteers from the participating communities,” MCB President John Gulick said. “Because of these dedicated individuals and their collaborative efforts, their Missouri communities are better places to live, work and play.”

The Awards Banquet is an integral part of the MCB program, which is administered by the Missouri Community Betterment Educational Fund. MCBEF is a not-for-profit organization made up of businesses, public utilities, community representatives, federal and state agencies and individuals.

Following is a list of the community and individual award winners:

Gene Speichinger Community of the Year Award



Community Awards

Category I

First Place South Iron/Annapolis

Second Place Caledonia

Third Place Jameson

Fourth Place Cainsville

Fifth Place Allendale


Category II

First Place Galena

Second Place Novinger

Third Place Lowry City

Fourth Place Osborn

Fifth Place Essex


Category III

First Place Steelville

Second Place Grant City

Third Place Bourbon

Fourth Place Mansfield

Fifth Place Salisbury   


Category IV

First Place Houston

Second Place Albany

Third Place Fayette/Armstrong

Fourth Place Windsor


Category V

First Place Salem

Second Place East Prairie

Third Place Lamar

Fourth Place Louisiana

Fifth Place Eldon


Category VI

First Place Pleasant Hill

Second Place Clinton

Third Place Perryville

Fourth Place Aurora


Certificate of Merit:

Category I Kingston


Glenn Smith Youth Group of the Year Award



Youth Groups

Category I

First Place Caledonia

Second Place South Iron/Annapolis


Category II

First Place Novinger


Category III

First Place Steelville & Bourbon (tied for 1st)


Category IV

First Place Houston


Category V

First Place Lamar

Second Place Louisiana


Category VI

First Place Pleasant Hill

Second Place Clinton


Youth Group Certificate of Merit

Category V Eldon


Adult Leadership Award

Anna Lee Sutton South Iron/Annapolis

Zola Steinman Albany

John Robinson, III Caledonia

Dan Wallace Clinton

Deborah Snedigar Lamar

Clay Stark Logan Louisiana

Jerry Lough Salem


Youth Leadership Award

Matthew Maxwell Caledonia

Mary Langdon Clinton

Kenna Roland Lamar

Kelsey Henderson Louisiana

Trenton Clarke Pleasant Hill

Matt Sirois Salem


MCB 2013 Ambassador Award

Avis Parman

Jason Smith