Phelps County PHA elects new officers

The Phelps County Public Housing Agency (PHA) elected new officers for fiscal year 2019-2020. Phelps County Presiding Commissioner Randy Verkamp will serve as chairman, while Maries County Presiding Commission Vic Stratman will serve as vice-chairman, and Crawford County Presiding Commissioner Leo Sanders will be secretary.

MRPC board learns broadband in rural counties is critical issue

    Some 1.04 million rural Missourians are without access to broadband internet. Tim Arbeiter, director of Broadband Development with the Missouri Department of Economic Development shared this and other information with Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) during its regular meeting June 13. According to Arbeiter, Missouri’s broadband initiative is mission critical.

Edwards elected treasurer of MCEC

    Dr. Greg Edwards of St. James was elected treasurer of the Meramec Community Enhancement Corporation (MCEC).
    MCEC is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit corporation that works in partnership with Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) to assist in its mission by providing services that increase social, economic, educational, health-related, and recreational opportunities to the residents of the region.