School Board Recognition Week to be observed January 21-27

Missourians benefit every day from the dedicated energies and countless hours devoted by a group of more than 3,600 men and women in every community across the state. These public servants are elected by local constituents and do not receive compensation for their tireless efforts. These men and women are the local school board members of Missouri.

During the week of January 21-27, communities across the state will honor the dedicated service of local boards of education during School Board Recognition Week, as proclaimed by Governor Eric Greitens. The goal is to build awareness and understanding of the important functions an elected board of education plays in communities and schools. All Missouri citizens are asked to recognize the important contributions of these men and women and focus attention on the vital role these public officials play in the education of Missouri’s children. 

The students and staff of the Crawford County R-I School District and Crawford County R-II School District extend sincere appreciation for the dedication of those who serve on the districts’ Boards of Education. The R-I Board consists of the following members: President Scott Blue, Vice President John Craig, Michelle Volkmann, Darrel Bosse, Marty de la Torre, Justin Blanton, and Stephen Waldron. The R-II Board consists of the following members: President Dan Hewkin and members Rodger Bridgeman, Jodi Layman, Jason Mehl, Jennifer Moreland, Carrie Myers, and Cheri Schuette.

School Board Recognition Week is sponsored by the Missouri School Boards’ Association. MSBA is a private, not-for-profit organization that exists to help school boards succeed.