Mortimeyer back again as mayor, Shelton wins marshal's race

Cuba voters elected Doug Shelton as the new city marshal and returned Ray Mortimeyer to the mayor’s office in Tuesday’s city elections. The Cuba Fire District proposal also passed, as did a countywide sales tax of a half-cent.

Doug Shelton received 316 votes to win the city marshal election, while incumbent Paul Crow got 205 votes and Frank Magel 120 votes. In the mayor’s race, incumbent Ray Mortimeyer won the election with a total of 269 votes, followed closely by Woodrow Martin’s 248 votes, and Henry Copling a distant third with 120 votes collected.

An overwhelming majority of voters approved two ballot measures to form a new Cuba Fire District, including both incorporating the district and allowing for a tax levy of up to 30 cents per $100 of assessed property value. The inaugural board of directors for the fire district will include Bruce T. Bailey, C. William Lange, and Patrick J. Myers.

Incumbents who went unchallenged in their races were all returned to city offices. Kim Roedemeier will serve another term as city collector in Cuba, and Warren Graddy, Cody Leathers, and Kevin Copling all were returned to their aldermanic seats in Wards 1, 2, and 3.

The countywide sales tax of one half-cent for five years for the purposes of supporting the General Revenue Fund passed with 1,474 yes votes against 1,145 no votes. With the passage of the new sales tax, the county will rollback property taxes for General Revenue to zero beginning in tax year 2018.

In other area elections, Thomas Jordan beat Gene Kulaga by one vote in the race for Bourbon’s Ward 1 alderman seat. Jordan tallied 30 votes and Kulaga 29. Mary Heywood was uncontested in the Ward 2 alderman’s race, and Danny Skaggs will return for another term as mayor of Bourbon, as his race went unchallenged.

Jason Allen Gobin and Ronald Roy Collins won seats on the Bourbon R-1 School Board. Gobin had 230 votes cast in his favor, Collins received 193 votes, and Darrel Bosse finished third with 190 votes.

In Leasburg, where there were two write-in candidates for the board of trustees, Michael Lockhart received six write-ins and Carolyn Prince five. They will both take seats on the board.

Jason Mehl and Dan Hewkin both filed for reelection to the Cuba School Board, but without any other candidates in the race, there was no board election required. The two candidates will continue to serve on the board for another three years.

The North Crawford Ambulance District had two incumbents file to reclaim their seats on the board of directors, and without any opposition candidates, the board did not hold an election. Paula Shockley retained her seat representing Subdistrict 2 (Benton Township), and Wolfgang Bouwhuis kept his Subdistrict 5 (Boone Township) seat on the board.

No elections were needed for the Crawford County E-911 Board, either, as only one person filed for each of the two open seats. At the 911 center, two new members will join the board: Tom Mounce, Jr. will fill the District 1 seat and Bill Harlan the District 2 seat. Both men will serve the board for two-year terms.

You are not authorised to post comments.

Comments will undergo moderation before they get published.

Comments powered by CComment