Crawford County voters choose Republican candidates

            Nearly 47 percent of Crawford County voters cast their ballots at the November 8 General Election, despite the fact there were no local races to be determined. Of the 16,425 registered voters in the county, 7,655 voted.

            In the contest for U.S. Senator, Crawford County voters overwhelmingly selected Republican Eric Schmitt with 5,822 votes (76 percent). Democrat Trudy Busch Valentine received 1,610 votes (21 percent), Libertarian Jonathan Dine had 114 votes (1.5 percent), and Constitution Party candidate Paul Venable got 57 votes (.75 percent).
            Crawford County voters chose Blaine Luetkemeyer, another Republican, as U.S Representative for the 3rd District with 6,167 votes (80 percent). Bethany Mann, Democrat, received 1,412 votes (18.5 percent).
            For State Auditor, local voters chose Republican Scott Fitzpatrick over the other two candidates with 6,066 votes (79 percent). Democrat Alan Green had 1,327 votes (17 percent) and Libertarian John A. Hartwig, Jr. got 183 votes (almost 2.5 percent).
            There was no contest for Missouri State Representative for the 120th District but Republican Ron Copeland still received 6,662 votes.
            The only race for a county office was decided in August when Steve Black won the Presiding Commissioner’s seat at the Primary. On November 8, he received 6,617 votes. Other uncontested votes were tallied for Associate Circuit Judge Patrick Horsefield (6,699), Circuit Clerk Karen Harlan (6,709), County Clerk John Martin (6,478), Recorder of Deeds Kim Cook (6,715), Prosecuting Attorney David Smith (6,559), Collector of Revenue Pat Schwent (6,577), and Treasurer Karen Sikes (6,618). All are Republicans.
            For the Constitutional Amendment questions, Crawford County voted against Amendment No. 1 (to amend the Missouri Constitution to grant the General Assembly statutory authority to invest state funds and also expand the state treasurer's investment options) with 4,788 (63 percent) voting “no” and 2,470 (32 percent) voting “yes.”
            Local voters were also against Constitutional Amendment No. 3 (to amend the Missouri Constitution to remove state prohibitions on the purchase, possession, consumption, use, delivery, manufacture, and sale of marijuana for personal use for adults over the age of 21.) There were 4,460 (58 percent) “no” votes cast and 3,091 (40 percent) “yes” votes.
            County voters said “yes” more than “no” to Amendment No.4 (to amend the Missouri Constitution to allow the general assembly by law to increase the minimum funding for a police force established by the state board of police commissioners to ensure such police force has additional resources to serve its communities. Currently, the only police force established by the state board of police commissioners is found in Kansas City.) In Crawford County, there were 4,490 (59 percent) votes in favor of the measure and 2,846 (37 percent) against it.
            Constitutional Amendment No. 5 (to amend the Missouri Constitution to create the Missouri Department of the National Guard as a new state agency, headed by an adjutant general appointed by and serving at the pleasure of the governor by and with the advice and consent of the senate) was also approved locally. There were 4,490 (59 percent) “yes” votes to the question and 2,760 (36 percent) “no” votes.
            Local voters said “no” 5,078 times (66 percent) to the ballot question, “Shall there be a convention to revise and amend the Constitution?” Just 2,138 (28 percent) of voters were in favor of calling a convention.